RSS: Quatloos!  | XML

Friday, January 2, 2009

Reader Question About Dating Scam


Have you ever heard of a scam involving a dating site. Guy looking for lady. Story when contact is made that he in Africa prospecting diamonds. After a couple of week's diamonds found, guy coming home but has problem paying royalties on diamonds. Can lady send him money as he doesn't have enough with him?

I am experiencing something like this now. Could be legit and I certainly am not sending anyone any money but if it's a scam I sure would like to know and that others are warned.



This is a common scam, known variously as a "dating scam" or a "Nigerian dating scam". It is a version of the Nigerian 4-1-9 scheme, which is technically known as "advance fee fraud".

You've been corresponding with a scam artist, which might not even be a guy, but is very likely to be sitting in a warehouse in Nigeria spamming and scamming for people to fall for this scam. There are no diamonds, and no royalties to be paid on the diamonds -- they've just made this up to get your money.

Unfortunately, there will be a number of suckers every DAY who fall for this scam, which is why running scams is the third largest business in Nigeria. Stay safe, and just refuse to deal with anybody in Africa, or anybody who wants your money.

Labels: , , , ,


At January 4, 2009 at 3:30 AM , Blogger bobbie said...

ive been corresponding with a man i thought i was to marry from the uk. Know ive found out his ip address is from nigeria. i have recieved 2 fraud checks from him susposed to pay off my home here and he has accessed my frieds home equity acct and took out 105,000.all banks are aware of this but nothing is really being done. I want to know who to report this too,I have many saved filed along with ip addresses and phone #s .Some one please help guide me to the right office or person to catch these scammers!!! Please help im in USA


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home

Recent Discussions

Discussions Forums


Previous Posts

Have a question for Quatloos?

 Report A Fraud


Ye Old Quatloos!       |       Quatloos Version 2.05

© 2002- by Quatloosia Publishing LLC. All rights reserved. No portion of this website may be reprinted in whole or in part without the express, written permission of Quatloosia Publishing LLC. This site is http://www.quatloos.com. Legal issues should be faxed to (877) 698-0678. Our attorneys are Grobaty & Pitet LLP (http://grobatypitet.com) and Riser Adkisson LLP (http://risad.com).

Management of Pay Per Click


Web Development by John Barrick